

© Copyright 2006 by the American Chemical Society and the American Society of Pharmacognosy

Volume 69, Number 1

January 2006

Editorial

Ten Years On-A Decade of Progress

The January 2006 issue marks the tenth anniversary of the copublication of the Journal of Natural Products by the American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP) and the American Chemical Society (ACS). In the intervening period, readers have seen many enhancements to the journal, perhaps most noticeably the now wellestablished Web version (http://pubs.acs.org/jnprdf/index.html), in which papers are published electronically on the "As Soon As Publishable (ASAP)" feature. The vast majority of our manuscripts are now submitted electronically through the ACS Paragon System, which reduces the resultant article publication times considerably. Back issues dating to 1979 (since the journal first became known as Journal of Natural Products) are now available electronically. Information on our journal covers dating back to 2001 is available through the "Cover Catalog" option. Two new features on the Web site in the last year are quarterly listings of the articles most frequently downloaded and a graphical Table of Contents provided for each contribution in the journal. During 2005, some authors have responded to the latter initiative through the ingenious use of color, making this not only practical but eye-catching as well.

In 2004, the *Journal of Natural Products* was accorded its highest ever "impact factor" of 2.202 (ISI, Philadelphia, PA). This figure and the total number of cites (8776) both increased by nearly 20% when compared with the corresponding figures in 2003.

Two outstanding papers were once again chosen for our annual journal awards. For 2004, the Arthur E. Schwarting Award (for papers open to all authors) was won by Sheo B. Singh, John G. Ondeyka, Hiranthi Jayasuriya, Deborah L. Zink, Sookhee N. Ha, Arlene Dahl-Roshak, Joyce Greene, Jennifer A. Kim, McHardy M. Smith, Wesley Shoop, and Jan S. Tkacz (*J. Nat. Prod.* **2004**, *67*, 1496–1506). In turn, Khaleem A. Mohammed, Choudhary F. Hossain, Lei Zhang, Richard L. Bruick, Yu-Dong Zhou, and Dale G. Nagle (*J. Nat. Prod.* **2004**, *67*, 2002–2007) were awarded the Jack L. Beal Award (for papers submitted by younger investigators). The winners of the 2004 Schwarding and Beal Awards were announced in the spring of 2005 on the journal Web site, where free access is provided to all the winning papers for these two awards dating back to 2001.

The new cover illustration for the first six months of 2006 was provided by Dr. Guido F. Pauli of the University of Illinois at Chicago and features the botanical dietary supplement black cohosh (*Cimicifuga racemosa*), overlaid with the structure of a recently described constituent of this plant, cimipronidine (*J. Nat. Prod.* **2005**, *68*, 1266–1270). For the July–December 2006 cover motif, Dr. Mark T. Hamann of the University of Mississippi will provide an illustration showing a source organism of a group of promising biologically active marine secondary metabolites, the manzamines.

Beginning on May 2, 2005, authors of articles describing research funded by the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) have been requested to submit to the NIH Library of Medicine's (NLM) PubMed Central an electronic version of the final version accepted for journal publication. This includes all publishable supplementary information as well as any modifications from the peer review process. The *Journal of Natural Products* has recently begun to participate in a system wherein ACS will deposit manuscripts to NIH on behalf of authors. Corresponding authors of articles who have acknowledged NIH support will be contacted in regard to each relevant manuscript published in the journal. We hope that our contributors will find this new arrangement convenient.

On reflection, the decision to co-publish the *Journal of Natural Products* between ASP and ACS just over a decade ago has indeed been an inspired one. The present editors (A. Douglas Kinghorn, Richard G. Powell, William H. Gerwick, Daneel Ferreira, Alice M. Clark, and John H. Cardellina II) and others who have served in an editorial capacity since 1996 (David G. I. Kingston, Harry H. S. Fong, and Francis J. Schmitz) wish to thank all of the many authors for their contributions and acknowledge our past and present reviewers for their major role in helping to make the journal the great success it has become.

A. Douglas Kinghorn

Editor-in-Chief NP058129F